Find out if you need a medical exam

Temporary residents by country or territory

Under Canada’s immigration law, you must have a medical exam if you:

  • want to come to Canada for more than six months, and
  • have lived or travelled for six months in a country or territory listed below in the year before you come to Canada.

The above conditions apply if there is a “YES” in the third column.

Country/Territory Medical
Immigration Medical
Exam (IME) required
Afghanistan New Delhi YES
Albania Paris NO
Algeria Paris YES
American Samoa Manila NO
Andorra Paris NO
Angola London YES
Anguilla Ottawa NO
Antigua & Barbuda Ottawa NO
Argentina Ottawa YES
Armenia London YES
Ascension Paris NO
Australia Manila NO
Austria London NO
Azerbaijan London YES
Azores Paris NO
Bahamas Ottawa NO
Bahrain London YES
Bangladesh Manila YES
Barbados Ottawa NO
Belarus London YES
Belau – Republic of Beijing YES
Belgium Paris NO
Belize Ottawa YES
Benin Paris YES
Bermuda Ottawa NO
Bhutan New Delhi YES
Bolivia Ottawa YES
Bora Bora Manila NO
Bosnia-Hercegovina London YES
Botswana London YES
Brazil Ottawa YES
Brunei Manila YES
Bulgaria London NO
Burkina-Faso Paris YES
Burundi London YES
Cambodia Manila YES
Cameroon Paris YES
Cap Vert Paris YES
Central African Rep. Paris YES
Chad Paris YES
Chagos Archipelago London NO
Chile Ottawa NO
China Beijing YES
Colombia Ottawa YES
Comoros – Islamic Federal Republic London YES
Congo – Democratic Republic (Kinshasa) London YES
Congo – Republic (Brazaville) London YES
Costa Rica Ottawa NO
Croatia London NO
Crozet Archipelago London NO
Cuba Ottawa NO
Cyprus Paris NO
Czech Republic London NO
Denmark London NO
Desirade Ottawa NO
Djibouti London YES
Dominica Ottawa NO
Dominican Republic Ottawa YES
Ecuador Ottawa YES
Egypt London NO
El Salvador Ottawa YES
Equatorial Guinea Paris YES
Eritrea London YES
Estonia London NO
Ethiopia London YES
Fiji Manila NO
Finland London NO
France Paris NO
French Guiana Ottawa NO
French Polynesia Manila NO
Gabon Republic Paris YES
Gambia Paris YES
Georgia London YES
Germany London NO
Ghana Paris YES
Gibraltar Paris NO
Greece Paris NO
Greenland London YES
Grenada Ottawa NO
Guadeloupe Ottawa NO
Guam Manila YES
Guatemala Ottawa YES
Guinea – Republic of Paris YES
Guinea-Bissau Paris YES
Guyana Ottawa YES
Haiti Ottawa YES
Honduras Ottawa YES
Hong Kong Beijing YES
Huahine Manila NO
Hungary London NO
Iceland London NO
India New Delhi YES
Indonesia Manila YES
Iran Paris NO
Iraq Paris YES
Ireland London NO
Island – Christmas Manila NO
Island – Easter Ottawa NO
Island – Lord Howe Manila NO
Island – Niue Manila NO
Island – Norfolk Manila NO
Island – Pitcairn Manila NO
Island – Truk Manila YES
Island – Wake Manila NO
Island – Yap Manila YES
Islands – Admiralty Manila YES
Islands – Austral Manila NO
Islands – Balearic Paris NO
Islands – British Virgin Ottawa NO
Islands – Canary Paris NO
Islands – Cayman Ottawa NO
Islands – Cocos Manila NO
Islands – Cook Manila NO
Islands – Cooz Manila YES
Islands – Falkland Ottawa NO
Islands – Faroe London NO
Islands – Gambier Manila NO
Islands – Kerguelen London NO
Islands – Loyalty Manila NO
Islands – Marquesas Manila NO
Islands – Marshall Manila YES
Islands – Midway Manila NO
Islands – New Guinea Manila YES
Islands – Solomon Manila YES
Islands – Tokelau Manila NO
Islands – U.S. Trust Terr. of Pacific Manila YES
Islands – U.S. Virgin Ottawa NO
Israel Paris NO
Italy Paris NO
Ivory Coast Paris YES
Jamaica Ottawa NO
Japan Manila NO
Johnston Atoll Manila NO
Jordan Paris NO
Kazakhstan London YES
Kenya London YES
Kiribati Manila YES
Korea (North) Manila YES
Korea (South) Manila YES
Kosovo London YES
Kosrae Beijing YES
Kuwait London NO
Kyrgyzstan London YES
Laos Manila YES
Latvia London YES
Lebanon Paris NO
Lesotho London YES
Liberia Paris YES
Libya Paris YES
Liechtenstein Paris NO
Lithuania London YES
Luxembourg Paris NO
Macao Beijing YES
Macedonia London NO
Madagascar London YES
Madeira Paris NO
Maio Manila YES
Makatea Manila NO
Malawi London YES
Malaysia Manila YES
Maldives Manila YES
Mali Republic Paris YES
Malta Paris NO
Martinique Ottawa NO
Maupiti Manila NO
Mauritania Paris YES
Mauritius London NO
Mexico Ottawa NO
Micronesia Manila YES
Moldova London YES
Monaco Paris NO
Mongolian People’s Republic Beijing YES
Montenegro London NO
Montserrat Ottawa NO
Moorea Manila YES
Morocco Paris YES
Mozambique London YES
Myanmar – Union of Manila YES
Namibia London YES
Nauru Manila YES
Nepal New Delhi YES
Netherlands London NO
Netherlands Antilles Ottawa NO
New Britain Manila YES
New Caledonia Manila NO
New Guinea Mainland Manila YES
New Hebrides Manila YES
New Ireland Manila YES
New Zealand Manila NO
Nicaragua Ottawa YES
Niger Paris YES
Nigeria Paris YES
Northern Mariana Manila YES
Northern Sinai Paris NO
Norway London NO
Oman London NO
Pakistan New Delhi YES
Palau Manila YES
Panama Ottawa YES
Papua New Guinea Manila YES
Paraguay Ottawa YES
Peru Ottawa YES
Philippines Manila YES
Poland London NO
Ponape Manila YES
Portugal Paris YES
Puerto Rico Ottawa NO
Qatar London YES
Raiatea Manila NO
Reunion London NO
Romania London YES
Russia London YES
Rwanda London YES
Sabah Manila YES
Saharawi Arab Democratic Rep. Paris YES
San Marino Paris NO
Sao Tome e Principe Paris YES
Sarawak Manila YES
Saudi Arabia London NO
Senegal Paris YES
Serbia London NO
Seychelles London YES
Sierra Leone Paris YES
Singapore Manila NO
Slovakia London NO
Slovenia London NO
Society Archipelago Manila NO
Somali Republic London YES
South Africa – Rep. of London YES
Spain Paris NO
Sri Lanka Manila YES
St. Barthelemy Ottawa NO
St. Helena Paris NO
St. Kitts – Nevis Ottawa NO
St. Lucia Ottawa NO
St. Martin Ottawa NO
St. Pierre et Miquelon Paris NO
St. Vincent and the Grenadines Ottawa NO
Sudan London YES
Surinam Ottawa YES
Swaziland London YES
Sweden London NO
Switzerland Paris NO
Syria Paris NO
Tahaa Manila NO
Tahiti Manila NO
Taiwan Manila YES
Tajikistan London YES
Tanzania London YES
Terre Australes et Antartiques Paris NO
Thailand Manila YES
Tibet Beijing YES
Togo Paris YES
Tonga Manila NO
Trinidad and Tobago Ottawa NO
Tristan Da Cunha Paris NO
Tuamotu Archipelago Manila NO
Tunisia Paris NO
Turkey Paris NO
Turkmenistan London YES
Turks and Caicos Ottawa NO
Tuvalu Manila YES
Uganda London YES
Ukraine London YES
United Arab Emirates London NO
United Kingdom London NO
United States of America Ottawa NO
Uruguay Ottawa NO
Uzbekistan London YES
Vanuatu Manila YES
Vatican City State Paris NO
Venezuela Ottawa YES
Vietnam Manila YES
Wallis and Futuna Manila YES
West Bank/Gaza Paris NO
Western Sahara Paris YES
Western Samoa Manila NO
Yemen London YES
Zambia London YES
Zimbabwe London YES
Date Modified: