ARCHIVED – Notice - Measures for people affected by the lifting of the temporary suspension of removals to Burundi, Liberia and Rwanda

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

July 23, 2009 — On July 23, 2009, the exception clause in the Safe Third Country Agreement that allowed people from countries under a temporary suspension of removals (TSR) to make a refugee claim in Canada at a Canada-U.S. land border, was removed.

This means that unless they qualify for another exception under the Safe Third Country Agreement, nationals from countries under a TSR (Afghanistan, the Democratic Republic of Congo, Haiti, Iraq and Zimbabwe) arriving at a Canada-U.S. land border will be ineligible to make a refugee claim in Canada.

They would instead need to apply for protection in the United States.

People already in Canada or arriving at a port of entry that is not a land border with the United States will not be affected by this measure and will continue to have access to Canada’s asylum system.

Find out more.


Date Modified: