Points for work experience – Federal skilled workers

(Maximum 15 points)

You can get points for the number of years you have spent in full-time paid work (at least 30 hours per week, or an equal amount of part-time).

National Occupational Classification (NOC)

The NOC is a system used to classify jobs in the Canadian economy. It describes duties, skills, talents and work settings for different jobs. CIC uses the 2011 edition of the NOC to assess skilled worker applications.

Finding your NOC category

The easiest way to find your category is to

This will give you some options. Check if any of them seem to be the right occupation. If this does not work:

  • press the “back” button,
  • choose the option that sounds most like your field, and
  • see if any of the occupations on the list match your occupation.

If the description and list of main duties match what you did at your last job(s), you can count this experience for points.
Use this chart to find the number of points based on your number of years of experience.

Experience Maximum 15 points
1 year 9
2-3 years 11
4-5 years 13
6 or more years 15

Application form

Date Modified: