Prepare to move - Sales tax

How sales tax works

Like many countries, Canada adds sales taxes to many of the goods and services you buy. These include:

Goods and Services Tax (GST)

GST is a Government of Canada tax of 5% added to the price of most goods and services.

Provincial Sales Tax (PST)

PST is added to GST in most provinces and will range from an extra 7% to 10%. Alberta, Nunavut, Northwest Territories and Yukon do not have provincial or territorial sales tax.

Harmonized Sales Tax (HST)

Newfoundland and Labrador, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island and Ontario combine the GST with the PST and call it the HST.

In Quebec, Revenu Québec administers the GST/HST and Quebec Sales Tax.


Date Modified: