Provincial and territorial governments

A system of governments across Canada

Canada has 10 provinces and three territories. Like the federal government, each province and territory each has a parliamentary government with three branches: executive, legislative and judicial.

Learn more about the provinces and territories in Canada.

Canadians elect new provincial and territorial governments at least every five years. The age and citizenship rules for voting vary according to the province or territory. The elected leader of a territorial government is called the government leader, while the elected leader of a provincial government is called the premier.

Provinces and territories have many responsibilities

Provincial and territorial governments are responsible for many important government-regulated activities, including education and the way our municipalities function. While municipalities (cities and towns) have governments of their own that look after a good deal of day-to-day government work in Canada, they are overseen by the provinces and territories.

Some responsibilities are shared

Provincial and territorial governments share responsibility with the Government of Canada for health services, immigration, farming, social assistance, transportation and the environment.

Newcomer services in your area

We can help you find free services near you.
Date Modified: