Four distinct seasons





Photos courtesy of the Canadian Tourism Commission

In Canada, there are four seasons: winter, spring, summer and autumn (fall).

In winter, the days are short and can be quite cold. When outdoors, people wear mittens or gloves, scarves, hats, warm coats and insulated boots. In summer, the days are long and are usually warm.

You may want to consider differences in weather when choosing a place to live.

Variable weather

The weather varies across Canada. While northern areas and areas far from large bodies of water can be very cold in winter, some regions—particularly the southern coastal regions—have milder weather. Temperatures in these areas can range from minus 10° to 5° Celsius in the winter and 10°C to 30°C in the summer. In southern coastal regions, there is more rain than snow during winter.

Some parts of Canada—such as the west coast in winter and central areas in summer—are humid. Other parts, such as the Prairies, are very dry.

Many factors influence weather, such as distance from the ocean, latitude, elevation and wind.

Learn more about:

Date Modified: